Got left over pastry? Make Jam Tarts!

I was making a bacon and mushroom quiche today for dinner and I had a small fist-sized ball of pastry left over. Before slinging it in the bin I thought back to a lovely weekend at my parents’ house not so long ago. Mum and I were making a steak pie and with the left over trimmings of short crust and some raspberry jam she made some tarts.

They are incredibly easy to make. Here’s how.

1. Grease and flour a 12 hole fairy cake tin. Pre-heat the oven to 190 degrees fan.

2. Roll our your left over short crust pastry fairly thin and cut out rounds using an 8cm cutter. Cut out as many rounds you can from the pastry but leave a little so you can cross the tops of the tarts (I managed to get 7 tarts from mine) and press them into the tin.

3. Take your jam (use any flavour you like) and spoon about a teaspoonful into each tart case.

4. Next, cut out two little strips of pastry and place in a cross on top of each tart.

They should look something like this!

5. Bake in the oven for approx 15 to 20 minutes until the pastry is cooked through.

6. Remove from the oven and place on a wire rack to cool. You can either serve these warm with custard or leave them to cool completely and devour them with a cup of tea.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Got left over pastry? Make Jam Tarts!

  1. Hi, I had some leftover pastry from a lemon cheesecake slice and wondered what to do. Found your recipe and whipped up the jam tarts. Looked exactly like yours but I used a little too much jam. But they tasted great. My mum used to make jam tarts. Definately keeping this recipe handy. Thanks Robyn.

  2. Hi Lucie! I made pastry for the first time in my life yesterday (!) for a lemon meringue pie and had a ball left over. I googled “what to do with leftover shortcrust pastry” and found your helpful blog post. I made 6 jam tarts which were SO simple to do and turned out really well! I literally had no idea what to do with the pastry and after all the work that went into making it, I was loathe to chuck it away, so thank you very much for helping me look like a domestic goddess πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

